Kissing in the Rain

Image

You are paid to waltz with me;
What do you know about love

but wedding dresses that never come off?
(Hollywood and Disneyland lied to you)

I may grant you my body
a little bit of time

but you will never have my mind.
When money, sex, love, desire, power

all mean nothing,
isn’t that power in itself?

I guess all we have left between us
is politics, poetry, and small talk,

gliding up and down the halls,
defiant, breathtaking, sorrowless.

© Alicia Khoo

NaPoWriMo Day 20

Poem I created from Estella’s POV in Great Expectations

7 thoughts on “Kissing in the Rain

  1. Hi, I was trying to write from the point of view of Estella in Great Expectations. Just artistic experimenting. Her point of view of love…I’m not sure would agree with yours. Thanks for the comment.

  2. Sensational poem.Very true picture.Bravo .Wishing you success.jalal

    • I don’t agree with Estella either, but thought I should stretch my artistic experimentation to write from a character’s point of view 🙂 Thanks for coming by. Appreciate the comments 😀

  3. I can not say that I have reviewed “Great Expectations” recently. I enjoyed your poem, though. Like her attitude–It is like there is a dark cloud that is reality (within your words). Bare, honest, in the face truth. Like awaken “men”; you may be dominant with class and social prestige — but in a woman’s arms you are nothing more than a babbling child. Wow. Intense. 🙂

Leave a Reply

