Never Good Enough

Who determines the

standard of beauty?

What we allow to exist

in advertisements and movies

determines the depth of a

plastic surgeon’s pocket.

I want to grow old, gracefully:

wrinkles and stretch marks

pointing to the number of years lived,

the songs I sang,

all the times I ever laughed

and wept;

and the words that come out

of my toothless mouth

magnifying the scars of my heart

every time I tried to love someone

but they wouldn’t let me

because they felt so unworthy

of anyone’s time,

that they would never put on those

dancing shoes and read my lips.

We walk on opposite directions

on either side of the street;

one to the scalpel and botox,

the other to tear down billboards

of filthy lies;

Come with me and we shall reclaim

what once was ours.

© Alicia Khoo

NaPoWriMo Day 26

https://www.facebook.com/TakeBackBeauty

6 thoughts on “Never Good Enough

  1. This is a beautiful poem Alicia. Yeah, we have a messed up standards of what is considered beautiful. I find my grandmother beautiful and she has a wrinkled, weathered face but she has so much character and I love it when her eyes twinkle.

Leave a Reply

