Capitalism is an Interesting Creature

Iraq-Babylon-Ancient-2In my armchair sits Philosophy
Regal in rags
Holding a cup of poison
Next to a perpetual fireplace

As the great thinkers of mankind
line the halls
Frantically writing shelves of books,
Arguing about whether God is dead,
Impotent! (a collective gasp!)
Indifferent?
A figment of the imagination?
A moral judge who decrees that men and
children die for Him;
Or a moral judge who died for all?

Wisdom says I have to make my choice,
And if I choose to make no choice,
That is a choice in itself.

We discuss the pursuits of utopia,
How we threw Communism away,
(so many people trying to change the world):

States of Monarchy, Anarchy and Apathy;
the nature of humanity–
inherently good, or completely fallen,
Heading to maximum entropy
Or eternal paradise!

Are the wages a tool for freedom,
Protection and a common good,
Or are we just prostitutes to gold
And dust?

Traitor of my soul,
You traded me for thirty silver coins,
my brother.
Cut me out of the inheritance;
If I am to guard a den of robbers,
if truth be told, I am to inherit destruction;
You can have it all.

I throw my willpower in the fireplace.
I drink the cup of poison.
I fall asleep weeping, wailing and
mourning in a garden but don’t die.

© Alicia Khoo

NaPoWriMo Day 28

14 thoughts on “Capitalism is an Interesting Creature

  1. I’d gladly live in anarchy, if I had comrades like you Alicia. You really do have to join skype for our future chats, it’s my birthday request (today being my birthday). How can you turn down such a request?

  2. Your poem is regal, (I’d say) in its dramatic energy and flow. Railing against the status quo, and robotic assumptions, it’s true, I’d say (from my experience) that most don’t recognize ‘choice’ per se, as a choice, something more defined than so called ‘non belief.’

Leave a Reply

