On Forgiveness

locusts-1

I find forgiveness to be such an overused and worn out word. It has been said to be one of the expressions of love and kindness–some say the way of being perfected. If mercy means to not mete out the punishment deserved (justice), and forgiveness means to release someone from the debt (condemnation) that stems from the wrong done to your personhood (the boundaries of your mind, will, emotions, body, loved ones) or property, I think perhaps from now on I will say, “I release you from everything you have ever done, including humiliation, deceit and betrayal. You owe me nothing, no less, no longer.”

And if grace (unmerited favor) means to not only forgive (release), but to do good to them (Christ-like), then Christ help us all! I’m running on empty with grace.

I think practicing forgiveness might be all I can muster right now. Let’s not push it.

-AK

Pain and disease awaken us to convictions which are necessary to our moral condition.
– Samuel Johnson (a/k/a Dr. Johnson) (“The Great Cham of Literature”)

16 thoughts on “On Forgiveness

    • Thanks for your thoughts Alice. I feel the same way you do. It has been one of my greatest philosophical and spiritual struggles to understand this concept. I will write more on this as I learn more and the thoughts strike me.

    • Hi Tony, thanks for your comment…yes grace is divine, and according to the Word, we are to be “conformed to the image of Christ” (Romans 8:29) We are not perfect, yet we are being perfected, through trials and circumstances and a renewal of the mind. If someone steals your cloak, give him your shirt too (Luke 6:29), for that is the Kingdom of God–longsuffering, patience, mercy and grace. I confess my flesh is still unable to do that, and that’s where I end and God takes over. With His teaching and guidance, one day I know I will be able to. 🙂

  1. Not unusual when given the amount of people
    who acknowledge that GOD is living, just and loving, while at the same time are content to exclude certain elements of the people in a society whom religious officials deem unsavory. Could not seem to grasp the meaning of grace paired with exclusion. Must be something man has decided to inject in the mix. Plenty of food for thought. Toodles.

  2. I am ready to receive those locust -eaten years from the hand of my Savior.
    But as I wait, I am surrounded by a swarm of well-fed locusts…
    HalleluJAH!

Leave a Reply

