Moving a Mountain of Platinum

Image

A cosmic shooting gallery

Have you ever tried to rip space apart
using the scientific method;

It is like ripping metal with your bare hands.

(This is the future my friends)

Like keeping rhythm with a hypothesis
And understanding that which is all math–

Math that exists outside of time
And time is infinity minus one;

That the diversity that leads to unity
cannot merely exist in just the number one
of the Arabic code:

Like an electric eel in a fishbowl
that gets moved
from one end of the galaxy to
the synapses of laminin
in our bodies;

Because life, breath and truth–
(even though we can imagine)

All these in the fullness of magnificence!
simply cannot be contained
by our minds;

Yet we blink. (and absolutisms
are absolved like
equations of peace
descending
upon us)

Right now a rock bigger than the earth
hurtles toward us
and is caught in the asteroid belt;

It is subdued while we drink our coffee
and contemplate
divorce or suicide;
forgiveness, evolution, or altruism.

ยฉย Alicia Khoo

In memory of Jason Molina, December 16, 1973–March 16, 2013
(RIP Jason Molina, you live on in the music you gave to us)
19 thoughts on “Moving a Mountain of Platinum

  1. Alicia. I like this very much. There’s nothing like an impending asteroid crash to nudge priorities back in order. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I also appreciate your mathematical definition of time “infinity minus one”. It stalled my math-impaired brain and left me stranded for a moment, outside of time, right where I like best to be. Alice

    • Dear Alice, I am delighted my little piece of hurried writing in an inspired moment also caused you a little “consciousness-stranded”-ness. Which is where poetry and music take me as well. I was at a talk where the speaker was talking about God, consciousness, probability, creationism and other theories of existence. This is what came out of it.

      • Alicia,

        Dang. You attend some interesting sounding talks. I like the way your creativity spins off. Keep spinning. Spinning turns the world.:-)

        I love the experience of “conciousness-stranded” -ness. This make holes that creation pours through. What a good feeling.

        Alice

      • Thanks Alice ๐Ÿ™‚ I completely agree, since we are metaphysical beings with metaphysical questions, transcending ourselves to see the world and life in a macro-view can be exhilarating and awe-inspiring experience, like little kids seeing a view of the Earth from space for the first time.

      • Wow. What a great way to say this. I still remember my first metaphysical view from space during my teens. Exhilarating. Yes.

        As I rememeber it, it was like a return to the unfiltered/uneducated experience of my early childhood reality. Expansive and boundary-less. A personal all-one sort of thing. Painting was always like this for me.

  2. Very much enjoying your style of writing, melding science hypotheses and story, it can be returned to and requires re-reads. I followed your equations! Interesting.

    • Thank you for the lovely comment! And I’m glad you liked the equations haha! ๐Ÿ™‚ It takes a fellow philosopher to enjoy the breaking down and building of mathematics and how it intertwines with theology and metaphysics!

  3. Words have the ability through your gifted hands to bring asteroids (shiver) hurtling towards us; while ponder our own daily lives.

    Our lives seem so small, yet extremely important as our minutes morph to hours to days then on and on. Thank you for helping me feel that I matter.

    • Thank you for the deep emphatic response! My poetry is a dialogue between souls, it’s the reason I write, and I am so glad it made you feel like you matter, because your response makes me feel like I matter too ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

